Favorite Things

It was a good day.

It started with a good sleep and I was up at 8:00 am – on a Sunday, I usually loll about until at least half past nine or so… I began with drawing. I will post my work at some other time, but I will include photos as I have been doing so far. From my drawing table at my window, I look out over the enclosed green area at our condo complex. Trees. Rocks. Snow. Before it snowed, squirrels enjoyed running up and down the tree, knocking berries to the ground and then descending to pick them up and scurry away. Magpies are always around. Tracks indicate that either there are a few cats wandering or a hare or two – I suspect the latter.

I drew the view from my window. I took some close up shots of the things that interested me. The sun rose above the rooftops and shone golden hews along the snow and branches. It was relaxing and inspiring. Drawing and gazing at nature from my window are a relaxing and favorite activity.

Another favorite thing is the drive to my sister and brother-in-law’s house in Willingdon. We have frequented Highways 45 and 29, which takes us through beautiful farmland – an abundance of fields, trees, and fences. I love the ponies alongside the road so I can stop and take pictures. I venture off route just to get their photos. The little shaggy ones we saw on New Year’s Day while on our way home. The others we saw today on our way into the village. This is where we took a side road and I ended up going north instead of west. Slight diversion. But – a favorite thing – driving back country roads. And, horses!

Oh, the moon! It is a wondrous thing and I remember my mom calling me just to say, “did you see the moon?” Often, in the condo apartment, it was way around to the east and I couldn’t see it, but out there along the highway with nothing in your way, it is a beautiful sight.

Enjoy the photos. Hope they make you smile. Have a wonderful night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment