Taking it to Day 19… Blog-Photo Challenge

Day 15 - 19 collage blog image 1I am standing in a valley surrounded by large hills and rocks and precipices that tower above, stretching into the darkening evening sky. As the sky changes from brilliant yellow and red and pink, finally fading to indigo, the silhouettes become almost eerie as I continue to take note of my immediate path with a cautious eye to the journey ahead. Even in the darkness there is light and it is a good habit to always try to look for the positive in any situation. I feel overwhelmed, a minute speck in a desert of sand… part of the bigger picture yet so insignificant on my own. I cannot call out – the row of wind turbine sentinels drowns out my voice, and even with all the advances in technology, there is no reception in that low-lying spot. Besides, who would I call to come into my deepest fears with me? I attempt to reason why I find myself alone here staring up into the astronomical abyss…

 Day 15 - 19 collage blog image 2

At times, this is how I feel when it comes to dealing with everything that goes on around me. My desire is to just write and create and yet when I get Day 15 - 19 collage blog image 5stuck in this valley it is hard to focus on my own words. By taking on too much, I make things so complicated that it’s hard at times for me to fill my own shoes.

So I withdraw and I hide. The confusion manifests itself as physical pain and then the climb out is even more difficult – it’s not only mentally and emotionally taxing, it is physically exhausting.

 

Day 15 - 19 collage blog image 3

The golden dream in the dark valley is the reason I push myself. There is something I want and only by working toward it, never giving up, and always dreaming… do I stand a chance of achieving it. I seek it. I reach for it and use it for leverage when I need a hand. Don’t ask what it is because it is hard to pinpoint exactly – it could be happiness, it could be leadership, it could be my passion, it could even be love. It’s not a thing – it’s a state of being.

Day 15 - 19 collage blog image 4

 

The day is what you make it – in a valley or on a peak… dream it. Do it. 

2 Comments

Filed under On Dreaming, On Life, On Writing

2 responses to “Taking it to Day 19… Blog-Photo Challenge

  1. You release your fears but also your dreams…they are the opposite sides of the same coin. Without dark there is no light – we all need ‘shadow’.

  2. Sharon

    Great thoughts Linda – we all have Dreams as well as down times but we must plod on which you do without any doubt!

Leave a Reply

