January 6, 2015 – 30 day Photo / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

January 30-day Photography / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

Day 6>> Obsession

Day 6 Blog image Obsession

I have a confession – I have an obsession … or perhaps even two, or three…

Thesaurus: mania, fascination, fixation, passion, preoccupation…

The definition of obsession in one dictionary indicates that it’s “a state in which someone thinks about someone or something constantly or frequently especially in a way that is not normal” or “it is the object of that attention, as in, an obsession.”

Other variations in defining this term take it to the lesser extreme of “an activity that someone is very interested in or spends a lot of time doing” to a full definition claiming “a persistent disturbing preoccupation with an often unreasonable idea or feeling.”

If I considered the things that are my obsessions, I would not describe them as “disturbing” or “unreasonable” but I guess that could be the case, depending upon what your obsession is. When a writer talks about being obsessed with words, it is because there is the realization that words are a deep part of who we are and what we need to do. It is a passion. A visual artist could be obsessed with the effects of their work and manipulating their work to present something totally different and original. I like using the special effects on my phone or on my computer programs to change the photos I take – sometimes. Most times I choose not to manipulate images, preferring to catch the picture in the moment. Other “obsessions” for me are ones recognized by others, such as the lovely Shakespeare mug, a horse calendar, and horse pocket watch – all received recently from dear friends. Thank you for accepting me and my obsessions – it is what makes me, “me.”

4 Comments

Filed under On Life, On Writing

4 responses to “January 6, 2015 – 30 day Photo / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

  1. wildhorse33

    P.S. The lovely snow heart on vibrant yellow is of course indicative of my obsession with my truck I call Sunshine. 😊

  2. Sharon

    We all need sunshine in our lives in what ever form we find it. I do not think of your beautiful creative writing as an obsession but it is your passion for sure, just like your creative photography! So Go my Friend and keep exploring your passions as many of us enjoy seeing what you do!

Leave a Reply

