January 3, 2015 – 30 day Photo / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

January 30-day Photography / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge     

Day 3 >> Clouds

Oh, the irony…

Day 3 - 30 day challenge Clouds

It was a fluff of white against the sky, floating magically from west to east across my vision. I pulled the telephoto lens out to get a strategic shot from the balcony of my 4th floor apartment. The air was cool as the temperature dropped to winter norms overnight. The snow shone like glistening diamonds, little sparkles of bling in the bright mid-day sun. Now… if you have followed my photography over the years you know I am a big fan of clouds. And as I looked out over the distant sky, I laughed. Oh, the irony…

Clouds… they are so much more than just their scientific explanation. They can be amazing, overwhelming, poetic, artistic, frightful, or even downright scary. If one were to single out the little specimen above, it could be confused with fractus clouds developed readily in nature. Its apparent light form reflects light through the water droplets in its formation; it floats and moves with the air currents – its edges have been described as torn “cotton candy.” The irony of my assignment for today’s 30 day photography challenge was that there was not a cloud in the Alberta sky – at least, not from my locale and vantage point. The clear sky was mocking me – let’s see how you get out of this one without killing off your muse! The good thing about prompts is that no matter what happens there is always a way to interpret them – all it takes is a little bit of inspiration, some ingenuity, gnashing of teeth and guttural waling… and a lot of creativity.

January 3rd was colder, but the day shone bright and beautiful. There was no need to “seek the sun” as it displayed prominently throughout the day and it was followed up at sunset with an almost full moon. The series of shots today allow you to view my world as I determined the focus of my blog and camera. Sometimes things are not always what they seem. We can be mistaken in believing one thing even while we attempt to keep a clear mind and sharp eye. It is easy for our judgement to be clouded if we do not take the time to research and find the right answers to suit our assignment.

Carpe Diem ~ Life is what you make it ~ even while searching for clouds on an afternoon in Sherwood Park and finding only man-made industry generated doppelgangers.

 

 

 

 

   

 

8 Comments

Filed under On Life, On Writing

8 responses to “January 3, 2015 – 30 day Photo / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

  1. Your favorite subject – LOL

  2. This 30-day challenge is an interesting idea – and one where you can combine and showcase two of your passions, writing and photography! I look forward to reading more of your entries and seeing the accompanying photos! I always think of you when I see a gorgeous sky photo!

  3. wildhorse33

    Thank you Bethany – I appreciate your comments and compliments. I love the photo challenge to combine with words with relevant images – sometimes thought provoking and intense.

  4. Sharon

    Clouds are intriguing but I agree they are often hard to find in sunny Alberta. I like clouds also as they can be ominous darkly colored ones or white as snow on a blue sky.Then at sunset cloud colors range from pinks and purples to yellows and oranges. I often see shapes in the clouds; shapes of animals, boats, people and even Angels. Twice those beautiful Angels signaled a warning to me of something significant about to happen in my life,which I did not realize or think about until later. Like the upside down Angel the night before Harry was hospitalized for a month or the two mysterious Angels hovering in the beautiful September blue sky just before I tripped and dislocated my left shoulder. Those clouds were Messengers and Guardians for me! I have a new respect for clouds.

    • wildhorse33

      I keep looking up as it is usually beautiful up there 🙂 It is too bad the Angels cannot warn you in a way to avoid such events… but I guess they are guardians to assist us through them. I know my guardian angel is up there watching, which in some small way gives me peace. Beautiful cloud post.

  5. Sharon

    Thank you Linda for your encouragement, and yes your Guardian Angel is up in Heaven watching over you for sure!. I will from now on take cloud Angels as a warning that something is about to occur. I hope it is alright that I have posted my writing here as an answer using the word too as I do not have a blog and wanted to participate in this challenge. A thought just came to me that I guess I could put mine on my FB page.

    • wildhorse33

      Don’t mind at all having you with me on my blog in the comments. Yes, you could post to FB, too – you could use the “notes” selection and add each one separately. Just a thought. You are more than welcome here, my dear friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

