January 2, 2015 – 30 day Photo / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

January 30-day Photography / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge   

Day 2 >> What You Wore

It is amazing the places the mind goes…

I guess that is the purpose of a prompt – to take you places you might not have gone on your own. To inspire new insight, to remind, to force creative outlook, to spark imagination, to create consternation and wonderment… I really love the idea of the list created by someone to whom I have no connection. The randomness of the challenges will allow me to go beyond the usual and will most likely ignite a whole new perspective for 2015.

What you wore… it could mean so many things and to each person a different meaning. It also produces different effects depending upon the context of the statement. Point of view is a major concept in writing. Is the list speaking TO me? Or, am I reading it as if I am speaking of YOU, someone other than myself? It provided much food for thought over the course of the day and even though I am not going to get all uptight about “what am I going to write” … it did give me ideas as my mind ran the gamut of memories, but what could I take a picture of for the challenge? Depending on when… what I wore varied:

  • yellow knit bonnet and booties on the ride home – April 1957
  • pink leather lace up walking shoes when just a year and a half – 1958 (I still have these)
  • leg-warming leg-covering colored tights in elementary – 1963
  • orange fish net stockings and brown fake leather mini in junior high – 1969
  • white tennis dress in high school – 1972 (I still have this)
  • matchy matchy ski outfit on the mountain slopes in my 20s
  • Satin wedding dress for marriage #1 – 1984
  • Satin western outfit for marriage #2 – 1990 (I still have this… somewhere…)

So you see my dilemma. Of course, if we turn the phrase around and point it at YOU, well then the concept of YOU depends, too, on who YOU are. If I base it solely upon one aspect, again it depends on who YOU are:

  • A black leather jacket
  • A grey suit
  • A western hat and boots
  • A shirt and tie
  • A t-shirt and jeans…

Day 2 - 30 day challenge What You WoreJanuary 2nd continued on with the momentum of winter as the snow fell overnight and well into the day. Eventually the sun broke through and it looked inviting even though cool upon embrace. I ventured out to clear the snow from Sunshine and plowed out onto the Sherwood Park streets. Nothing keeps us home anymore – there is never too much snow or too little traction to keep the determined from outside action. You could tell the weather was colder with the sun’s rays reflecting “sun dogs” in the ice crystal laden air. Traffic was heavy, but it always is on a Friday afternoon. I wore my down filled jacket, warm winter boots, and ensured I had my new gloves and sunglasses with me. I was ready to make the day mine.

I recall lying in bed this morning thinking of the waning vacation days and decided coffee was in order so I didn’t sleep away my time off. My thoughts immediately go to all the things I didn’t do instead of thinking of what I did achieve and the memories I acquired over the holidays. It is just natural to think of it that way – I must get into the habit of doing otherwise.

Life is what you make it.

2 Comments

Filed under On Dreaming, On Life, On Thinking

2 responses to “January 2, 2015 – 30 day Photo / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

  1. Sharon

    What an interesting subject – what you wore. What we wear and wore can make one feel good about yourself and boost your self confidence. But as you say Linda we are more than what we wear just as the suit does not make the man, right? I too have memories of days long past with regards to some special clothing. Like a voile dress of green plaid when I was five. An ordinary pale blue cotton dress bought in Spokane, while there with my elder sister, was my absolute favorite as a teen.It had a full skirt under which a crinoline was perfect! I remember a full length grey leather coat with removable lining and elegant fur collar so that I could wear it in spring.Then I later wore a long evening dress of navy blue rayon with a halter neck which exposed my back. White triangular collars trimmed with navy and gold adorned the front. Made me feel like the princess at the ball but they do not really make you who you are. Better that you be kind to others and be honest. But sure makes the past come to your mind with a smile!

    • wildhorse33

      Awesome Sharon. I love the description of “what you wore…” The navy sounds elegant and nautical = another favorite of mine. Reading through it jarred memories of others for me: a full length dark navy denim coat; navy denim hiking boots, mauve knit vest with long fringes! What I wore, mind you, not all at once! Thank you for posting your prompt here and participating – I am happy to have you along for this journey, my friend!

Leave a Reply

