January 1, 2015 – 30 day Photo/Blog Word/Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

January 30-day Photography / Blog Word / Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge   

Day 1 >> Self-Portrait

Ah, yes. Me, myself, and I. Day 1 - 30 day challenge Self-PortraitNot my favorite subject… in photographs.

No matter how creative I think I am or how acceptable my image seems to be to me in the mirror… there is always something that doesn’t translate onto the “film.” I have accepted that I will never be in motion pictures or in magazines or on the news anchor desk. Don’t get me wrong – I love me and all I represent and have grown to be over the years. I am happy with my accomplishments and look forward to so much more as we go on. The past year was one of freedom, in many ways, for me. It was a discovery of self and a connection with inner self. It was a realization of what was needed and what will never be the same. It was a search and destroy mission – searching for sense while destroying the senseless blocks that weigh me down. Although I anticipate 2015 to be a year of change, 2014 was one of rediscovery and adjustments, too. The chance to reconnect with love on so many levels came to fruition – and love is something I cherish deep in within my soul. I am a hopeless romantic, at times. I was able to complete my long time WIP – An Elizabethan Affair, thereby finally publishing my affection for William. I set limits while breaking boundaries. I realized some of my own goals while helping others to realize theirs. I moved forward without looking back.

January 1st is always a day to dive with caution into the goals one sets for oneself. Often resolutions are made with high expectations that end up being measured with somewhat waning results. I do not want to make promises to myself that I end up abandoning because of my work or company schedule. My goals involve the creative aspects of my life and have been unchanging for a number of years now. For writers, our methods of inspiring new work may change, but the output is always the same – words. Our passion lies deep – we cater to our desires. My desires also lie in complimentary areas of creativity, especially photography. I am a truck window photographer – a fly by skidding to a halt picture taker along the side of the road hoping for a handy turnout… just ask anyone who’s been along for the ride! Today’s challenge of self-portrait was considered here and there with a little bit of “yuck”… but when the opportune moment hit me… it fit the assignment and it fit me. It is my reflection in my own truck window while on the day’s sojourn.

Searching for sunshine on a grey day >> only pop of color = Sunshine (my truck) and the flag; only life form = sunshine (my man) Ray:

3 Comments

Filed under On Life, On Writing

3 responses to “January 1, 2015 – 30 day Photo/Blog Word/Freeing the Creative Spirit Challenge

  1. Sharon

    Well done Linda, Love the pictures of a sunless day especially the one of the road going who knows where. So I do not have a blog I will do day 1 here – self portrait – – An old Bagg(s) handicapped by a dislocated painful shoulder that limits my writing and crafting, leaving my soul now cold and barren. My days now spent indoors sitting in a chair with heat on my left shoulder or ice, once my arm exercises are finished. Each day is a struggle and I am so dependent on others for everything,although I can now make myself a cuppa Joe with our Kuerig so I try to stay positive and be thankful for my “true love” who does everything for me as well as all the chores. Have not been able to cook and people have been so very kind! They tell me now at physio to start baking – stir those cookies with that left arm and roll that pastry – so I will dabble with that for now and leave the crafting for another day. My self portrait is changing – a baker I’ll become! A change from an old Bagg(s) sitting all day in a chair…

    • wildhorse33

      I hope you mend and get back to doing what you love – this is a true self-portrait… a snapshot of life as it is. Good job on the prompt as it fits exactly what was asked for, although it will again change once you are able to move and resume your unencumbered journey. Thanks for following my blog and keep on writing!

  2. Sharon

    Thank You Linda, I guess life is always changing isn’t it? We have to go with the flow. I am grateful for your encouragement as I have been in block position for some time now! Your words encourage me !

Leave a Reply

