You Let Me Be

You let me be while things were so uncertain

Content to remain in the back ground until such time they turned around

You never let me forget that you were there when and if I needed you

and I would always need you – even though I did not say it aloud

You walked with me the fine line between need and want

without judgment as I chose from those things that would sooth or suit

You left your words of encouragement as brief notes – undemanding with

a care that permeated the heat of anger, the stealth of night, and the

weakness that dwells in the shadows waiting for me to fall

You offered support without exchange, without sound, without an

outstretched hand that takes but one that makes me steady

And when the time came to move past the things that kept me from you,

it was you who let me be the one to say hello, I’m back

2 Comments

Filed under On Life, On Writing

2 responses to “You Let Me Be

  1. A friendship can span a moment or a lifetime – a true friend knows to let you go when it is needed and to embrace you when you return.
    A moving piece from an awesome friend.

Leave a Reply

