Writing Variations

Talk  about variations and writing and it might lead some to think that it means changing your style. It couldn’t be farther from the truth. In fact, the statement means directly the opposite in the long run – it means being true to your own style as a writer while allowing yourself the experience other forms and genres have to offer. There are so many variations in the literary world that it is a shame not to try them out. Short “vacations” from your mainstay writing means a greater deposit of memories along your writing journey.

In my Internet travels today, I read quite a few articles, posts, blogs, web sites and comments about the differences that exist between creative people. This was not a common topic thread, rather, the uniqueness in each was evident in the content presented and how the message was shared with the reader. I was able to determine from all of this that it is possible to display your own creativity and personality, even if there are a million others talking, writing, or posting in the same artistic way.

One writer shared the simple secret behind being a writer that is often echoed throughout the literary community, and certainly, every writer has heard it on at least one occasion – to be a writer you must write. It’s as simple as that except that it isn’t for some. Her post was well written and she shared some pointers on how to do “just write.” It is worth taking a look – http://www.vibrantnation.com/our-blog-circle/kay-strom/writing-secret-revealed-/ Never miss a change to explore other’s words on writing, if you are a writer.

Often, new writers are intimidated by the words that are out there. That is the first thing you must realize as a writer… there have been many words written in history that we will never come close to duplicating; there are authors out there writing everyday who we will not match, no matter what we write; there is an endless future of words ahead of us, but – if you are a writer and it is indeed within you to write, no matter what is out there, no matter who is out there, and no matter what you write, you will. If you truly feel that you are in charge of that passion that needs to put pen to paper, what you write is as important as any that have gone before you. Writing is validated through the reader and in order for that validation to begin you must put those words where they can be read.

A dear poet friend once said that “writing is an act of courage” and, although she is no longer with us, I remember her words and often encourage others to put their words to paper reminding them that they are in charge of their own stories – no one else can tell them. I also suggest that they try things that take them away from their usual way of writing NOT as a suggestion to change but as a suggestion to try. It is the same with artists who mimic the masters, studying technique, copying style and then applying their own spirit to their work.

Writing is a word art that desires and deserves the same mastery. Learning and practicing the rules is the way to discover your style and the way to free your creativity. Trying different types of writing is like exercising all your muscles. You may prefer a certain way and feel more confident doing one thing, for example, using a certain poetic style or a favorite novel genre. Change it up and try something “outside the box.” Today I read a writing friend’s wonderful poem that she felt was not a poem because it didn’t rhyme – it allowed me to confirm to her that indeed it was a poem due to its poetic features even if it was void of the rhyming one. I am a fan of rhyme that flows but also I am open to the free verse and its followers. There in lies a perfect example of writing variance – if you regularly try to rhyme, then don’t, and if you usually don’t, then try. It is not meant to encourage you to “jump ship…” it merely challenges you to do something a little different, for the fun and experience of it.

My connection to my words is even greater right at this moment, yet I have traipsed all over different word paths this week and tread upon papers thick with phrases no one would really call creative. Formal writing such as that used in business applications usually don’t come to mind when we speak of creativity, but for me, it is a wonderful trek. Writing grant applications and by-laws, thank you correspondence and web site content, presentations and business plans might not excite the majority of writers whose passions lie in creating fictional worlds and characters. For me, it reinforces my connection to the written word, exercises the left-brain-right-brain volley, and confirms my dedication to, not only my own writing life, but to that of others who depend on words to secure a part of theirs.

This week my boss asked me to write a position paper for our company on an issue that we’ve been dealing with. Even though we may be considered minor players in the electrical industry, we have a major point to make and words are how we do that in a professional manner. I felt that my abilities as a writer were confirmed with this request, and although, I don’t seek confirmation it certainly strokes the writer’s ego. The same feeling happens when someone comments on your work that may be posted on a blog – a comment means that time was taken to read your words and an appreciation or connection, in some way, was afforded.

I can appreciate those who might say focus is more conducive to production, and I can certainly understand that sentiment. Quite a few years ago I narrowed my focus from doing so many things that were using my creative abilities but were draining me – too many interests can divide quality. It also depletes your inner resources and just plain makes you tired. Today my scope encompasses anything to do with writing and anything to do with illustrating or artwork that usually ties to some kind of writing – for instance, children’s book illustrations. In doing this, I keep my focus on writing – something that I discovered is supposed to be my journey. I can do a million things to do with writing and it never gets to be too much. Other things distract – writing variations improve the focus I have on my creativity.

1 Comment

Filed under On Life, On Writing

One response to “Writing Variations

  1. Grace Carr

    It’s scary to try something different………
    I remember trying poetry that didn’t rhyme (I always used to write rhyming)……….it felt very awkward at first……..now most of my poetry is non-rhyming………thank you for encouraging me to try another way.

Leave a Reply

