Writing About Love

January 3, 2010 Aries (March 21 – April 19)

“You might feel as if someone is challenging your right to say what you feel today. But upon closer examination it’s apparent that you aren’t being criticized for your opinions, but rather for how you express them. Something as simple as changing your tone of voice to soften your words may be all that’s needed to take the aggressive edge off your message. It’s surprising how quickly things can turn around when you focus on love instead of conflict.”

My horoscope today echoes my decision to write of love this month in keeping with my resolve to focus on a more positive outlook about all the things that I hold dear to my heart, in particular writing, for it is a passion that I cannot live without.

Let me first proclaim I am very lucky to have the love of family and friends but that is the subject of another day. Today it is about my constant companion – writing. This love lives within me forming from the expectation I hold of writing and the ability to compose words in such a way it provides me with an outlet to embrace them.

Love is an important part of all of us for without love we have nothing. As writers we always have a true love – the love of words and writing. We put words to paper as we put a kiss to the forehead of our little ones – with care and heartfelt emotion that is inherent in our nature. Our written work is encouraged over the years and we watch our words grow as do our children. We mold them into useful and participating entities who will learn by trial and error. Watching them go out the door to rest upon a paper or to foreign ears is an act of courage for we now share them and offer them to the big world where harshness and criticism lives.

We do not despair for our constant attention to them during their growth prepares them to stand on their own and makes them ready to encounter whatever is out there. They may be changed by this exposure but if we did our job well enough during their formative years, they will stand the test of time. Let them go so you can encourage more.

Write every day in some form and continue to learn all there is to know for in the learning and the living grows experience and strength which are foundations for our creativity and an outlet for our love.

A writer's heart beats words

3 Comments

Filed under On Life, On Writing

3 responses to “Writing About Love

  1. Twilla Boyce

    This is beautiful! I especially like the line, “…like leaving a kiss to the foreheads of our children.” We do have so much love to express that often goes unsaid. So, in keeping with the spirit of this article…let me say that “I do love you!” You are such a special part of my life. I’m forever grateful you are a part of it.

  2. Mandy

    I love the idea of nurturing our words like children and watching them grown. As a novice to writing I find other writers prose to be an inspiration and encourages me to continue my learning.
    Thank you for being so supportive.

  3. Grace Carr

    Ditto, Ditto…….no use to repeat……love this beautiful entry Linda!
    LOVE IS !!!

Leave a Reply

